Willie Nelson Announces New Album ‘The Border’

Country legend Willie Nelson has announced a new studio album, The Border.

Legacy Recordings will release the album in all configurations – digitally, on CD and black vinyl – on May 31.

Meanwhile, Barnes & Noble will be offering an exclusive LP edition of The Border, pressed on orange vinyl and there will be an exclusive vinyl version offered on Willie’s D2C store that includes a 12″ x 12″ designed lyric book featuring the gorgeous album artwork with extensive listening notes by noted writer Mikal Gilmore and photos by Pamela Springsteen.

All versions are available for pre-order at https://willienelson.lnk.to/theborderLW!news240314

The album’s title track – Willie’s insightful interpretation of Rodney Crowell‘s “The Border” – is available on all DSPs.

Co-written by Crowell and Allen Shamblin for Crowell’s 2019 Texas album, “The Border” describes the inner life and outer reality of a border guard.

The Border will be Nelson’s 152nd album. It premieres 10 newly recorded Nelson studio performances including four new Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon compositions – “Once Upon a Yesterday,” “What If I’m Out of My Mind,” “Kiss Me When You’re Through,” “How Much Does It Cost,” and “Hank’s Guitar,” a new song cowritten by Buddy Cannon and Bobby Tomberlin.

Produced by longtime musical collaborator Buddy Cannon, The Border showcases Willie Nelson in lead vocals, Trigger, accompanied by Mickey Raphael on harmonica, Bobby Terry on acoustic guitar, electric guitar, steel guitar, James Mitchell on electric guitar, Jim ‘Moose’ Brown on Wurlitzer, B-3 organ, piano, synthesizer, Fred Eltringham on drums, percussion, and Barry Bales on upright bass). Backing vocals are by Buddy Cannon and Melonie Cannon.

The Border features cover art depicting the Big Bend border area between Texas and Mexico.

Willie Nelson & Family will be on the road from June through September co-headlining the Outlaw Music Festival Tour 2024.

The Border tracklist:

1. The Border

2. Once Upon a Yesterday

3. What If I’m Out of My Mind

4. When I Wrote This Song for You

5. Kiss Me When You’re Through

6. Many a Long and Lonesome Highway

7. Hank’s Guitar

8. Made in Texas

9. Nobody Knows Me Like You

10. How Much Does It Cost

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2024 RTTNews.com. All Rights Reserved